Kinesio Taping for Tendonitis

‘I have suffered from pain in my wrist and elbow for several years, probably as a result of many years playing club level badminton.  Recently my wrist hurt even more and specifically when I twisted my hand.  I didn’t know what I’d done to it but it felt different to the usual pain so asked Anne if she could help.  She suggested trying out Kinesio Tape.  I was sceptical but willing to try anything.  To my surprise, within a couple of days the pain had almost gone. I call it ‘magic tape’.

This client feedback was particularly interesting as it was a difficult case to treat.  As mentioned in his feedback this client had suffered from joint pain in his wrist elbow and shoulders previously.  The pre-existing pain was likely to be arthritis and a result of general ‘wear and tear’.  The wrist pain was accompanied by swelling and the pain was in a very specific location and occurred on specific movement.  This would indicate tendonitis which can be helped by Kinesio Taping.

Kinesio Tape can be used for a variety of injuries:

It can provide support for weak or injured muscles without affecting the normal range of motion. This works well for elbow and knee injuries.

It can activate muscles that have been weakened after injury, surgery or weakened by degenerative muscle wasting.

It can inhibit muscles that are tight, fatigued or overused, allowing them to relax and recover faster.  This is particularly successful for the lower back.

It can  correct postural imbalances.  I use this most successfully on the shoulder areas.

It can be used to create a negative pressure areas of inflammation, encouraging lymphatic drainage to relieve swelling and improve circulation to speed healing.  This can also help following surgery.

For this particular client I wanted to both provide stability to support the wrist, encourage the flexor muscles to relax and reduce the swelling. I used a technique of ‘I strip’ with 10% stretch over the joint area with a four fingered fan with no stretch, pictured below on the return visit 3 days later.

KTape wrist

The tape stayed on well and by on the return visit the client was pain free and I was pleased with this result.

Much of the success of Kinesio Taping is dependent on the accuracy of application.  It must be placed in exactly the correct place on the muscle requiring treatment, the tension must be accurate and the tape activated.  I have found that practise is crucial to getting the most consistent results and the more I use tape the better the results become.  While most of my experience has been with the lower back and shoulders this case showed that the same principle applied to another area also gives a successful result.

For more information on Kinesio Taping contact me or look at http://www.kinesiotaping.co.uk/

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Kinesio Taping for Tendonitis | thestudionorfolk
  2. Erin · November 28, 2015

    Hi there !
    I suffer wrist tendinitis and the pain is pretty much in the middle of my wrist. And I am hands on I’m looking for a good effective taping method to help with my pain and aid healing. Could you please recommend me a good method to taping with the kinesiology tape?
    Thank you

    • thestudionorfolk · January 2, 2016

      Hi Erin, I would suggest that you find a KinesioTape practitioner as its really hard to apply tape yourself. It requires good anatomy knowledge as well as training to understand how much tension to put on the tape.
      Anne

Leave a Reply

